Tag Archives: Assembly Elections
  • Congress President Rahul Gandhi Calls Prime Minister A “Natural Liar”

    Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Friday called Prime Minister Narendra Modi a "natural liar", and said he had insulted Bengaluru by referring to it as a garbage city. Gandhi's condemnation comes a day after Modi attacked the Congress party's government in Karnataka for destroying the cityscape...

  • Congress Poll Manifesto For Karnataka Vows 1 Crore Jobs

    In a bid to retain power in Karnataka, the ruling Congress on Friday promised to create one crore jobs across the southern state in its manifesto for the May 12 Legislative Assembly elections. "We aim to create at least 15-20 lakh jobs each year in the state and provide programmes for skill devel..

  • Congress Announces Names Of 218 Candidates Listed For Karnataka Assembly Poll

    Karnataka's ruling Congress on Sunday declared 218 candidates for the May 12 assembly elections, withholding names for remaining six seats of the 224-member house. According to Congress General Secretary Mukul Wasnik, who released the list in the national capital, the candidates were selected by ..

  • 58% Voters From Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh & MP Wants To Rule Out BJP; Not Happy With BJP Governance

    The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) may be headed out in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and perhaps even Madhya Pradesh if the most recent study by Rajasthan Patrika is any sign. Patrika addressed 45,000 voters over the three states and found that there is a powerful urge for change among them. 58% of the vote..

  • Karnataka BJP President Yeddyurappa’s Announces “Breaking News”; Delivers Flop Political Show

    Karnataka BJP President B S Yeddyurappa's much hyped "Breaking News" that had created ripples in political circles and curiosity among the public, ended in a whimper today. The former Chief Minister's tweet yesterday about "Breaking News" today at 5 PM had generated much curiosity and expectation..

  • BJP Couldn’t Have Won Assembly Elections In Gujarat; If I Had Met Rahul Gandhi: Hardik Patel

    Patidar leader Hardik Patel on Saturday said not meeting Congress president Rahul Gandhi ahead of the Gujarat polls was a mistake as it would have prevented the BJP from retaining power in the state. The 24-year-old Patidar quota agitation spearhead, who had pledged support to the Congress for th..

  • Assembly Elections: Voters Voted For Hung Assembly In Meghalaya

    Meghalaya threw up a hung Assembly today with the ruling Congress emerging as the single largest party after winning 21 seats out the 59 that went to polls last month. The National People's Party (NPP) was at the second position with 19 seats, according the results, . The BJP, which contested..

  • Left Sarkar Ousted In Tripura; BJP Wins With Development Agenda

    In a saffron surge in the northeast, the BJP put up a spectacular show in Tripura on Saturday, ending 25 years of the Left rule, and was looking to formation of coalition governments in Nagaland and Meghalaya in the face of hung verdicts. The BJP and its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura ..

  • Nagaland CM Wins By Over 5000 Votes

    Nagaland Chief Minister and Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) candidate T R Zeliang retained his Peren constituency today defeating his nearest NDPP rival Iherie Ndang by 5,432 votes, EC sources said. Zeliang bagged 14,064 votes while Ndang of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party secured 8,632..

  • 86 Per Cent Turnout In Meghalaya Re-poll

    About 86 per cent voters exercised their franchise during re-polling at one polling station Raliang constituency in Meghalaya today, Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor said. The re-poll was ordered at Kyndong Tuber polling station after polling officers stopped voting on February 27 following..